The Other Side of Night: A Novel (Paperback)

The Other Side of Night: A Novel By Adam Hamdy Cover Image
$17.00
Out of Stock, but we can likely order it for you. We will advise if we cannot.

Description


For fans of Matt Haig and Anthony Horowitz, a “strange, compelling, and ultimately moving head-spinner of a novel” (John Connolly) in which the lives of a disgraced police officer, a prolific author, and an upstanding citizen are inextricably bound together by a series of mysterious deaths.

The Other Side of Night begins with a man named David Asha writing about his biggest regret: his sudden separation from his son, Elliot. In his grief, David tells a story.

Next, we step into the life of Harriet Kealty, a police officer trying to clear her name after a lapse of judgment. She discovers a curious inscription in a secondhand book—a plea: Help me, he’s trying to kill me. Who wrote this note? Who is “he”?

This note leads Harri to David Asha, who was last seen stepping off a cliff. Police suspect he couldn’t cope after his wife’s sudden death. Still, why would this man jump and leave behind his young son? Quickly, Harri’s attention zeroes in on a person she knows all too well.

Ben Elmys: once the love of her life. A surrogate father to Elliot Asha and trusted friend to the Ashas.

Ben may also be a murderer.

Compulsively readable and thought-provoking, “The Other Side of Night is one of those rare books that you’ll still be thinking about long after the last page” (Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost You).

About the Author


Adam Hamdy is a bestselling British author and screenwriter who works with studios and production companies on both sides of the Atlantic. He’s currently adapting his novel Black 13 for Ringside Studios, and is developing his original screenplay, The Fear in Their Eyes with December Films.

Praise For…


The Other Side of Night is like no crime novel I’ve ever read. The pages almost turn themselves and when I was finished I couldn’t stop thinking about the story’s incredible twists, turns, and surprises.” 
— James Patterson

“Mind-bending! This intriguing and thought-provoking thriller is a profound exploration of how far some are willing to go in the name of love. A fantastic twist you’ll never see coming.”
— Liv Constantine, internationally bestselling author

"‘Emotional, heart-warming and thought provoking, The Other Side of Night is one of those rare books that you’ll still be thinking about long after the last page."
— Jenny Blackhurst, the internationally bestselling author of How I Lost You

“A strange, compelling, and ultimately moving head-spinner of a novel.”
— John Connolly

"Hold onto your sanity. This psychological thriller will keep you wondering which strange details are real and which emerge from the minds of the characters. The lonely boy, the disgraced police officer, the bizarre scientist—each has a dark secret, and a dark problem to solve. The Other Side of Night is imaginative and thought-provoking, fiction at its best." 
— W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O'Neal Gear, New York Times bestselling authors of Dissolution and Fourth Quadrant

"A genre-bending page-turner—existential, emotional, and packing a twisty, gut-punch of an ending."
— Matthew Sullivan, acclaimed author of Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore

"The Other Side of Night is gut-wrenching, explosive, and absolutely original, with a twist that made me gasp. A masterclass in crime fiction."
— T.A. Willberg, author of Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder

"A big-hearted, big-brain novel that you'll finish in three days and think about for the rest of the year. Wonderful."
— Stuart Turton, bestselling author of The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle and The Devil and the Dark Water

"This carefully constructed tense yarn is full of doubts, beautiful passages and as many twists as a mountain road." 
—  Gabino Iglesias, book critic and author of The Devil Takes You Home

"An intriguing, fascinating, maddening tale from Adam Hamdy . . . . . If many thrillers suffer from a tendency to hurtle toward inevitable conclusions, this book is just the opposite—completely unpredictable."
— Sarah Lyall
Product Details
ISBN: 9781982196196
ISBN-10: 198219619X
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication Date: July 4th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English