Champions of the Fox (Thieves of Shadow #3) (Hardcover)

Champions of the Fox (Thieves of Shadow #3) By Kevin Sands Cover Image
$18.99
In Stock
2 on hand, as of Feb 24 12:18am
(909-JV-Middle Grade)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Thieves of Shadow series.

Description


In this conclusion to the thrilling Thieves of Shadow series, bestselling author Kevin Sands delivers a jaw-dropping heist that sees five young thieves masterminding a prison break from the empire’s most impenetrable island fortress. Fans of The False Prince and Ocean’s Eleven will be mesmerized by this page-turning series filled with twists and turns.

Follow my instructions, and when our task is done, I will release you.”

Commanded by the magical artifact known as the Dragon’s Eye, junior con artist Callan and his friends are eagerly reaching the end of the epic quest that will finally free him from the Eye’s sinister hold. But their final task is their most ambitious: sneaking into the emperor’s private island prison and rescuing a man from a jail cell that has been locked tight for a hundred years. This impossible heist will strain the gang’s unique abilities to thieve and deceive everyone from the guards, the city elite, the warden, and even the nefarious local crime boss who warns them to stay away.

As the friends plan out their last and most difficult con job, Callan begins to question what they’re helping the Eye to achieve. Aided by magical hints and fitful dreams, Callan slowly uncovers the Eye’s true desires. To his horror, he realizes that he may be the one being conned all this time . . . and his mistake could cost the world’s entire existence.

About the Author


Since escaping from university with a pair of degrees in theoretical physics, Kevin Sands has worked as a researcher, a business consultant, a teacher, and a professional poker player. He lives in Ontario, Canada. He is the author of the Thieves of Shadow series, which includes Children of the Fox and Seekers of the Fox, as well as the bestselling Blackthorn Key series.

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR THE THIEVES OF SHADOW SERIES

NPR Best Book of the Year
Amazon Best Book of the Month


★ "In a sharp-witted series opener, Sands crafts an adventure with mythological undertones and a heist framework."
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Kevin Sands brings mystery, magic and a pretty major con-job to his first fantasy novel, a story where things are never quite as they seem. Be prepared for an exciting read." 
—NPR

"This high-energy thriller is perfect for younger fans of Six of Crows, the movie Ocean’s Eleven, and other inside-job narratives. Readers will be sure to delight in narrator Callan’s sharp wit and snappy voice as they are introduced to the rest of the crew and their unusual skills. Cryptic messages, creepy characters, and unexpected but endearing friendships abound."
—Booklist

"Sands has created a rip-roaring story full of frantic twists and turns that leave readers questioning what is real and what is not. The magic is believable, and the world is easy to imagine. And one cannot help but root for these young protagonists whose lives have been so difficult and yet who manage to hope for a better future. A fabulous choice."
School Library Journal

"The band of thieves navigates through their world’s lost history and mythology on a quest that will take them diving to reach a shipwreck and ends with a major heist. The climax even delights in genre conventions, cutting from the action to flashbacks of the planning and scheming. A fun heist is a reward for expository worldbuilding."
Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593620953
ISBN-10: 059362095X
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: November 7th, 2023
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Thieves of Shadow