Silent Hill: The Terror Engine (Landmark Video Games) (Paperback)

Silent Hill: The Terror Engine (Landmark Video Games) By Bernard Perron Cover Image


Silent Hill: The Terror Engine, the second of the two inaugural studies in the Landmark Video Games series from series editors Mark J. P. Wolf and Bernard Perron, is both a close analysis of the first three Silent Hill games and a general look at the whole series. Silent Hill, with its first title released in 1999, is one of the most influential of the horror video game series. Perron situates the games within the survival horror genre, both by looking at the history of the genre and by comparing Silent Hill with such important forerunners as Alone in the Dark and Resident Evil. Taking a transmedia approach and underlining the designer's cinematic and literary influences, he uses the narrative structure; the techniques of imagery, sound, and music employed; the game mechanics; and the fiction, artifact, and gameplay emotions elicited by the games to explore the specific fears survival horror games are designed to provoke and how the experience as a whole has made the Silent Hill series one of the major landmarks of video game history.

About the Author

Bernard Perron is Professor of Cinema at the Université de Montréal and coeditor, with Mark J. P. Wolf, of the Landmark Video Games series.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780472051625
ISBN-10: 0472051628
Publisher: University of Michigan Press
Publication Date: January 3rd, 2012
Pages: 172
Language: English
Series: Landmark Video Games