New Releases

Uncommon Type: Some Stories Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101946152
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 17th, 2017

A collection of seventeen wonderful short stories showing that two-time Oscar winner Tom Hanks is as talented a writer as he is an actor.


The Floating World Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616205287
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - October 17th, 2017

"Set in New Orleans, this important and powerful novel follows the Boisdore family . . . in the months after Katrina. A profound, moving and authentically detailed picture of the storm's emotional impact on those who lived through it." --People


Seven Days of Us Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451488756
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley Books - October 17th, 2017

#1 LibraryReads Pick

A warm, wry, sharply observed debut novel about what happens when a family is forced to spend a week together in quarantine over the holidays...


Smile Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780735224445
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - October 17th, 2017

From the author of the Booker Prize winning Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha, a bold, haunting novel about the uncertainty of memory and how we contend with the past.


Deep Freeze Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9780399176067
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - October 17th, 2017

Class reunions: a time for memories--good, bad, and, as Virgil Flowers is about to find out, deadly--in the thrilling new novel in the #1 New York Times-bestselling series.


Leonardo Da Vinci Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781501139154
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 17th, 2017

"A powerful story of an exhilarating mind and life....the book is a study in creativity: how to define it, how to achieve it."--The New Yorker

"Majestic . . . Enthralling, masterful, and passionate."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A monumental tribute to a titanic figure."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Endurance: A Year in Space, a Lifetime of Discovery Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781524731595
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 17th, 2017

A stunning, personal memoir from the astronaut and modern-day hero who spent a record-breaking year aboard the International Space Station--a candid account of his remarkable voyage, of the journeys that preceded it, and of his colorful and inspirational formative years.


Staff Pick Logo
American Wolf: A True Story of Survival and Obsession in the West Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101902783
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - October 17th, 2017

The enthralling story of the rise and reign of O-Six, the celebrated Yellowstone wolf, and the people who loved or feared her


Lioness: Golda Meir and the Nation of Israel Cover Image
$40.00
ISBN: 9780805242379
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schocken Books Inc - October 17th, 2017

The definitive biography of the iron-willed leader, chain-smoking political operative, and tea-and-cake-serving grandmother who became the fourth prime minister of Israel


A Secret Sisterhood: The Literary Friendships of Jane Austen, Charlotte Bronte, George Eliot, and Virginia Woolf Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780544883734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 17th, 2017

Male literary friendships are the stuff of legend; think Byron and Shelley, Fitzgerald and Hemingway. But the world's best-loved female authors are usually mythologized as solitary eccentrics or isolated geniuses.


Slow Medicine: The Way to Healing Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594633591
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 17th, 2017

A radical new understanding of how medicine is best practiced, from the award-winning author of God's Hotel


Typewriters: Iconic Machines from the Golden Age of Mechanical Writing Cover Image
By Tom Hanks (Foreword by), Anthony Casillo, Bruce Curtis (Photographer)
$40.00
ISBN: 9781452154886
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - October 17th, 2017

From the creation of the QWERTY keyboard to the world's first portable typing machine, this handsome collection is a visual homage to the golden age of the typewriter.


Ungrateful Mammals Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781419724633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 17th, 2017

Eggers is one of the most notable writers of his generation, recognized for such bestsell-ing and critically acclaimed books as A Hologram for the King, What Is the What, and The Circle. Before he embarked on his writing career, Eggers was classically trained as a draftsman and painter.


Crystal Muse: Everyday Rituals to Tune in to the Real You Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781401952389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hay House - October 17th, 2017

Crystal Muse explores how you can transform life's challenges into opportunities for growth by being equipped with the right crystals and mindset. Learn how you can connect with crystals and empower your life by using this guide to set such transformational intentions as:
--Attracting love through learning to love yourself
--Relieving anxiety by surrendering to meditation


The Bone Thief Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780553538007
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - October 17th, 2017

Fans of Tim Burton and Wes Anderson will love this new fantasy novel by #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noel in which a ragtag team of eleven-year olds with otherworldly abilities set out to solve the mystery behind the sudden onset of ordinary events plaguing their very unusual town.


Dear Martin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781101939499
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 17th, 2017

"Raw and gripping." --Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys

A must-read " --Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give


The Player King Cover Image
By Avi
$16.99
ISBN: 9781481437684
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - October 17th, 2017

From Newbery Award-winning author Avi comes the gripping and amazingly true tale of a boy plucked from the gutter to become the King of England.


Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a Not-So-Secret Crush Catastrophe Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781534405608
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - October 17th, 2017

Nikki Maxwell's adventures continue in the twelfth installment in the blockbuster #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series


The Lumberjack's Beard Cover Image
By Duncan Beedie, Duncan Beedie (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763696498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Templar Books - October 17th, 2017

When Jim the lumberjack chops down some animals' homes, they find a new one -- in his beard


Follow the Track All the Way Back Cover Image
By Timothy Knapman, Ben Mantle (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763695736
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - October 17th, 2017

Woo-woo When Little Train ventures way down the tracks, he's glad he remembers his mommy and daddy's coaching in a story with sure appeal for first-time adventurers.


Trains Cover Image
By Ian Graham, Stephen Biesty (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780763696474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Templar Books - October 17th, 2017

See inside eight amazing trains with the master of cross sections, Stephen Biesty.


Through Your Eyes: My Child's Gift to Me Cover Image
By Ainsley Earhardt, Ji-Hyuk Kim (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534409590
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - October 17th, 2017

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Take Heart, My Child and popular FOX news anchor Ainsley Earhardt comes a sweet new book that celebrates everyday wonders and miracles.


Where, Oh Where, Is Baby Bear? Cover Image
By Ashley Wolff, Ashley Wolff (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481499163
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beach Lane Books - October 17th, 2017

Baby Bear is back in this cozy, seek-and-find companion to the celebrated Baby Bear Sees Blue and Baby Bear Counts One.

When Mama and Baby Bear go out to look for food one night, curious Baby Bear wants to wander and explore. Each time his Mama Bear calls for him, Baby Bear turns up in a different place. Where, oh where, could Baby Bear be?


Someday, Narwhal Cover Image
By Lisa Mantchev, Hyewon Yum (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481479707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 17th, 2017

In this charming companion to the award-winning picture book Strictly No Elephants, a tiny narwhal discovers that sometimes the difference between staying home and a big adventure is a group of loving friends.

Red front door. Potted plant. Umbrella stand. Piano. Red front door. Potted plant. Umbrella stand. Piano.


Windows Cover Image
By Julia Denos, E. B. Goodale (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780763690359
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - October 17th, 2017

Walking his dog at dusk, one boy catches glimpses of the lives around him in this lovely ode to autumn evenings, exploring your neighborhood, and coming home.


Zigzag Zooborns!: Zoo Baby Colors and Patterns Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781481431057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beach Lane Books - October 17th, 2017

Get to know a whole new herd of zoo babies in this darling picture book about colors and patterns from the creators of ZooBorns.com.

Calling all animal enthusiasts It's time to learn about colors and patterns with a crew of irresistible zoo babies. Featuring adorable animal photos, a zippy text, and a fact-filled glossary, this just might be the cutest concept book ever to hit the shelves.


In the Woods Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780500651056
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Thames & Hudson - October 17th, 2017

There's lots going on in the woods . . . Olly the horse is tired of waiting to turn into a unicorn like his friends. Lionel the lion is terribly embarrassed by his hair- loss. And Red the fox won't come out of her hole because the wedding cake she spent hours preparing has been gobbled up.


Good Housekeeping Kids Cook!: 100+ Super-Easy, Delicious Recipes Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781618372406
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hearst - October 17th, 2017

Tomato Soup with Cupid Croutons. A Meatball-Mozzarella Pizza. Homemade Fudgy Ice-Cream Sandwiches. Good Housekeeping's fun-to-make (and eat ) recipes will appeal to every kid.