New Releases

The Misfortune of Marion Palm Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781524731908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - August 8th, 2017

A wildly entertaining debut about a Brooklyn Heights wife and mother who has embezzled a small fortune from her children's private school and makes a run for it, leaving behind her trust fund poet husband, his maybe-secret lover, her two daughters, and a school board who will do anything to find her.


The Good Daughter Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062430243
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - August 8th, 2017

The stunning new novel from the international #1 bestselling author -- a searing, spellbinding blend of cold-case thriller and psychological suspense.

Two girls are forced into the woods at gunpoint. One runs for her life. One is left behind...


Emma in the Night Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250141439
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 8th, 2017

"Both twisted and twisty, this smart psychological thriller sets a new standard for unreliable narrators." -Booklist, Starred Review One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held.


The Locals Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780812993226
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - August 8th, 2017

"Summons up a small American town at precisely the right moment in our history . . . a bold, vital, and view-expanding novel."--George Saunders

A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times--fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan.


Rescued from Isis: The Gripping True Story of How a Father Saved His Son Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250147585
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 8th, 2017

The Bettencourt Affair: The World's Richest Woman and the Scandal That Rocked Paris Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101984475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books - August 8th, 2017

Heiress to the nearly forty-billion-dollar L'Oreal fortune, Liliane Bettencourt is the world's richest woman and the fourteenth wealthiest person. But her gilded life has taken a dark yet fascinating turn in the past decade. At ninety-four, she's now embroiled in what has been called the Bettencourt Affair, a scandal that dominated the headlines in France. Why?


The Kelloggs: The Battling Brothers of Battle Creek Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780307907271
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon Books - August 8th, 2017

"What's more American than Corn Flakes?" --Bing Crosby

From the much admired medical historian ("Markel shows just how compelling the medical history can be"--Andrea Barrett) and author of An Anatomy of Addiction ("Absorbing, vivid"--Sherwin Nuland, The New York Times Book Review, front page)--the story of America's empire builders: John and Will Kellogg.


The Great Quake: How the Biggest Earthquake in North America Changed Our Understanding of the Planet Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101904060
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - August 8th, 2017


In the bestselling tradition of Erik Larson's Isaac's Storm, The Great Quake is a riveting narrative about the biggest earthquake in North American recorded history -- the 1964 Alaska earthquake that demolished the city of Valdez and swept away the island village of Chenega -- and the geologist who hunted for clues to explain how and why it took place.


Science in the Soul: Selected Writings of a Passionate Rationalist Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399592249
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - August 8th, 2017

The legendary biologist and bestselling author mounts a timely and passionate defense of science and clear thinking with this career-spanning collection of essays, including twenty pieces published in the United States for the first time.


Improbable Destinies: Fate, Chance, and the Future of Evolution Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399184925
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - August 8th, 2017

A major new work overturning our assumptions about how evolution works


Stanton: Lincoln's War Secretary Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781476739304
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 8th, 2017

"This exhaustively researched, well-paced book should take its place as the new, standard biography of the ill-tempered man who helped save the Union: It is fair, judicious, authoritative and comprehensive."--The Wall Street Journal


Little & Lion Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316349000
Availability: Special Order
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 8th, 2017

A stunning novel on love, loss, identity, and redemption, from Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Brandy Colbert


The Hearts We Sold Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316314596
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 8th, 2017


A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo


In Some Other Life Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374380762
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - August 8th, 2017

Kennedy Rhodes turns down an acceptance to an elite private school, instead choosing to stay at her high school and jump at the opportunity to date the boy of her dreams. Three years later, Kennedy walks in on that same boyfriend cheating with her best friend and wishes she had made a different choice.


Jigsaw Jones: The Case from Outer Space Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250110183
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - August 8th, 2017

What Makes a Monster?: Discovering the World's Scariest Creatures Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553512304
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 8th, 2017

Monsters are real--and they're everywhere in nature Animal Planet meets Godzilla in this nonfiction picture book that puts the "Ack " into backyard science.


Another Way to Climb a Tree Cover Image
By Liz Garton Scanlon, Hadley Hooper (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626723528
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - August 8th, 2017

When Lulu's feeling well, she climbs every tree in sight, especially
the tallest ones,
the ones with the widest branches,
the ones with the stickiest sap.

But when Lulu's sick, she's not allowed outside. She wonders if the trees are lonely without her. Maybe the birds are too.


Here Comes Teacher Cat Cover Image
By Deborah Underwood, Claudia Rueda (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399539053
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - August 8th, 2017

It's back to school for the New York Times bestselling Cat when he steps in as a substitute teacher.