Margot

I enjoy literary fiction, non-fiction, motivational, spiritual and cook books.  

My current favorites are listed below:

The Great Alone Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780312577230
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 6th, 2018

"A TOUR DE FORCE." --Kirkus (starred review)

Alaska, 1974.
Unpredictable. Unforgiving. Untamed.
For a family in crisis, the ultimate test of survival.


Manhattan Beach Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781476716732
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner Book Company - October 3rd, 2017

LONGLISTED for the NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION

The daring and magnificent novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad.


Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780553447453
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - February 28th, 2017

WINNER OF THE 2017 PULITZER PRIZE FOR GENERAL NONFICTION


Staff Pick Logo
A Kind of Freedom Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781619029224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Counterpoint LLC - August 15th, 2017

A 2017 National Book Award Nominee
A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice
A New York Times Notable Book of 2017


The Solace of Trees Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780997316902
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New Europe Books - July 11th, 2017

A Bosnian War orphan of Muslim heritage escapes his homeland, finds a new family in New England, and learns to deal with his trauma--and years later falls into the depths of post-9/11 America's extraordinary rendition program.


Staff Pick Logo
Exit West Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735212176
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - March 7th, 2017

FINALIST FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER PRIZE

FINALIST FOR THE 2017 KIRKUS PRIZE

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW, TIME MAGAZINE, NPR, AND THE GUARDIAN


Commonwealth Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062491831
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - May 2nd, 2017

#1 New York Times Bestseller

The acclaimed, bestselling author--winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize--tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families' lives.


Staff Pick Logo
Little Fires Everywhere Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735224292
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - September 12th, 2017

The instant New York Times bestseller

Entertainment Weekly's #1 Must-Read Book for Fall * Reese Witherspoon's Book Club Selection * #1 Library Reads Pick * September IndieNext Pick


Watch Me Disappear Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812989465
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Spiegel & Grau - July 11th, 2017

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - The disappearance of a beautiful, charismatic mother leaves her family to piece together her secrets in this propulsive novel for fans of Big Little Lies--from the bestselling author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything.

"Watch Me Disappear is just as riveting as Gone Girl."--San Francisco Chronicle


The Refugees Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802126399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - February 7th, 2017

Viet Thanh Nguyen's The Sympathizer was one of the most widely and highly praised novels of 2015, the winner not only of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, but also the Center for Fiction Debut Novel Prize, the Edgar Award for Best First Novel, the ALA Carnegie Medal for Fiction, the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and the California Book Award for First Fiction.


The Nix Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781101970348
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

A New York Times 2016 Notable Book
Entertainment Weekly's #1 Book of the Year
A Washington Post 2016 Notable Book
A Slate Top Ten Book


Staff Pick Logo
Sweetbitter Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101911860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 4th, 2017

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Brilliantly written. . . . Outstanding."--The New York Times Book Review


Homegoing Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101971062
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

Winner of the PEN/ Hemingway Award
Winner of the NBCC's John Leonard Award
A New York Times Notable Book
A Washington Post Notable Book


The Last Painting of Sara De Vos Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250118325
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - April 4th, 2017

Amsterdam, 1631: Sara de Vos becomes the first woman to be admitted as a master painter to the city's Guild of St. Luke.


Kitchens of the Great Midwest Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143109419
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - June 7th, 2016

"A sweet and savory treat." --People
"An impressive feat of narrative jujitsu . . . that keeps readers turning the pages too fast to realize just how ingenious they are."--The New York Times Book Review, Editor's Pick


Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780316154703
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - June 3rd, 2014

"Sedaris is a remarkably skilled storyteller and savvy essayist....And based, on this latest collection, he's getting only better." ---Los Angeles Times

A guy walks into a bar car and...


Staff Pick Logo
A Gentleman in Moscow Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780670026197
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - September 6th, 2016

"The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count's refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we're longing for." - Ann Patchett

"How delightful that in an era as crude as ours this finely composed novel stretches out with old-World elegance." --The Washington Post

He can't leave his hotel. You won't want to.


The Relic Master Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501125768
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 25th, 2016

Christopher Buckley's "hilarious, bawdy, and irreverent frolic of a tale" about a sixteenth-century relic hunter and the artist Albrecht Durer who conspire to fabricate Christ's burial shroud reads "like Indiana Jones gone medieval" (USA TODAY).


The Life We Bury Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616149987
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Seventh Street Books - October 14th, 2014

College student Joe Talbert has the modest goal of completing a writing assignment for an English class. His task is to interview a stranger and write a brief biography of the person. With deadlines looming, Joe heads to a nearby nursing home to find a willing subject. There he meets Carl Iverson, and soon nothing in Joe's life is ever the same.


Staff Pick Logo
Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143109396
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 26th, 2016

**Winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Autobiography**

"Reading this guy on the subject of waves and water is like reading Hemingway on bullfighting; William Burroughs on controlled substances; Updike on adultery. . . . a coming-of-age story, seen through the gloss resin coat of a surfboard." --Sports Illustrated


Malibu Farm Cookbook: Recipes from the California Coast Cover Image
By Helene Henderson, Martin Lof (Photographer)
$40.00
ISBN: 9781101907368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter Publishers - April 12th, 2016

From the beloved restaurant, a cookbook featuring more than 100 recipes that celebrates fresh produce, meals for sharing, and the beauty of coastal California.


Kale & Caramel: Recipes for Body, Heart, and Table Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781501123399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - May 2nd, 2017

Born out of the popular blog Kale & Caramel, this sumptuously photographed and beautifully written cookbook presents eighty recipes for delicious vegan and vegetarian dishes featuring herbs and flowers, as well as luxurious do-it-yourself beauty products.


Staff Pick Logo
Kitchen Matters: More Than 100 Recipes and Tips to Transform the Way You Cook and Eat--Wholesome, Nourishing, Unforgettable Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780738219240
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Da Capo Lifelong Books - June 13th, 2017

Pamela Salzman shares a simple but powerful mantra with the students who attend her famed cooking classes: Eat well, live well, be well. Now, in Kitchen Matters, she shares the recipes that have won the praise of Nicole Richie, Rashida Jones, Audrina Patridge, and other mega-fans.


Staff Pick Logo
Eating Clean: The 21-Day Plan to Detox, Fight Inflammation, and Reset Your Body Cover Image
By Amie Valpone, Mark Hyman (Foreword by)
$25.00
ISBN: 9780544546462
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - March 8th, 2016

The essential guide to fight inflammation, heal your gut, and reset your body with detox and clean eating


The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9781878424310
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amber-Allen Publishing - November 7th, 1997

In The Four Agreements, bestselling author don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love.


Staff Pick Logo
10% Happier: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually Works--A Tr Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062265432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dey Street Books - December 30th, 2014

Winner of the 2014 Living Now Book Award for Inspirational Memoir


Cork Dork: A Wine-Fueled Adventure Among the Obsessive Sommeliers, Big Bottle Hunters, and Rogue Scientists Who Taught Me to Live Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143128090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - March 28th, 2017

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES CRITICS' TOP BOOKS OF 2017

Named a Best Book of 2017 by NPR, Smithsonian, Bustle, Booklist, and more