Daniel Riley Author Event

Fly Me Book Cover Image  Daniel Riley Image

Daniel Riley

Author of Fly Me

Thursday, June 15th at 7pm

 

The year is 1972 and Suzy Whitman arrives in Sela del Mar, a debaucherous beach town in the shadows of LAX, lured across the country by the desire for danger and acceptance, and the possibility of escaping her past. Full of startling psychological insight, Daniel Riley’s debut novel, Fly Me (Little, Brown and Company; June 6th, 2017; 9780316362139), is a haunting tour de force. Richly evoking the sights and sounds of the era, Riley paints the vivid portrait of a nation on the verge of a new era—and a girl caught between her past and the ever-expanding present.

Suzy casts aside her recent Vassar degree, following her beloved older sister into the borderless adventures of working as a stewardess for Grand Pacific Airlines.  Suzy immerses herself into Southern California culture, meeting the surfers who populate the beaches and the musicians who play in the smoke filled clubs.  There is a dark side to this sun-soaked town and Suzy is soon drawn into a drug-trafficking scheme.  Between the years of 1961 and 1973, there were over 160 planes hijacked over U.S. airspace, and Suzy is forced to confront those who dominated the headlines and terrorized the skies. Smuggling cocaine in her (often unchecked) luggage is a lucrative side business; thrilling and terrifying, heightened even more so by the skyjacking epidemic of the day. That will all change on one fateful evening, where everything Suzy has come to know and love, goes up in smoke.

For readers of Rachel Kushner’s The Flamethrowers, Fly Me is an engaging exploration of being young, navigating expectations and learning to live with your mistakes. Fly Me is an unforgettable novel about family, a young woman on the edge, about drugs and rock ’n’ roll, and the increasingly thin line between freedom and free fall.

Daniel Riley is an exciting new talent and we’re thrilled to have him appear at {pages}. He grew up in Manhattan Beach, California, and lives in New York City. 

RSVPs are appreciated.  Call 310-318-0900 or email info@pagesabookstore.com.

 
Event date: 
Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
904 Manhattan Ave.
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Fly Me Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316362139
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - June 6th, 2017

A nation on the verge of a new era-and a girl caught between her past and the ever-expanding present.
Now a Los Angeles Times Bestseller